November 21, 2018, 05:30:57 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Quitting Smoking + M.E/CFS  (Read 1373 times)
impalpable77

« on: April 01, 2014, 05:08:26 PM »

I had been smoking for 22 years varying amounts before I quit.  A couple of months later my CFS symptoms started.  This was most likely just a coincidence and I'm by no means suggesting I start up again as I have now quit a year.  But it just makes me wonder is there any research about this or has anyone experienced the same.  You always hear of smokers being really unwell after they quit getting colds etc.  (I had shingles prior to my CFS).  Just interested to hear other peoples thoughts.
Purple Peril

« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 09:59:26 AM »

I don't know of any research, but given the chemicals that are floating around your body when you smoke, I imagine that some sort of reaction when they are removed suddenly is quite possible. I say this because I got depression quite randomly straight after I quit smoking, and they can often attribute depression without a specific trigger to 'chemical imbalance', don't they?

Tina
Sisyphus
Retired Moderator
Lifetime Member

I have CFS/ME

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2014, 03:20:13 AM »

All depression ultimately is down to chemical imbalances which can be caused by emotional stress, physical stress or the affects of chemicals (like nicotine and alcohol). Nicotine mimics the actions of acetylcholine in the brain, ultimately increasing dopamine levels for a short period. Once you stop taking nicotine your dopamine levels drop, your brain isn't pumping out enough ACh and so it all has to adjust. Likely this has affects on your immune system as well, basically your body is just trying to rebalance, even your blood changes, thinning out, releasing carbon monoxide etc.