November 16, 2018, 06:10:26 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Previously full-time work won't let me work home parttime  (Read 332 times)
KV_Tofu

« on: May 21, 2018, 12:44:56 PM »

I used to work full-time in IT.
Then I went on maternity leave. My health severely deteriorated after the birth of my son and now I'm housebound.
Application to change my hours to part-time work from home has been rejected (and appeal rejected).
No idea how they expect me to return to work at the start of June when I specified that I couldn't get into the office.
Thoughts? Advice? Questions?

Thanks.. x
agapanthus
Staff
Lifetime Member

I'm a CFS sufferer...

« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2018, 01:25:14 PM »

So sorry to hear this. I guess that the application is always a request and not a right unfortunately even if you do have some rights under the Equality Act to ask for 'reasonable adjustments'. I assume that you have asked under that clause for the part time hours from home. That would be the best way to approach it I would think. Have they given you reasons for the rejection?

The question is, are they open to any adjustments? Can you discuss that with them? The problem is that if you cannot even get into the office then not much is open to you or them. You would have to go off sick then and they would eventually dismiss you under their sickness absence procedures (used to be called a Capability Procedure when I worked but that was aeons ago) - ie not the same as dismissal for misconduct anyway.

KV_Tofu

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2018, 01:36:58 PM »